Start Planning
Observances

Global Observances 2018

This page contains a calendar of all 2018 observances instituted by the United Nations and its agencies, and recognised in countries across the world. In most cases, these dates are set to the same date each year. Therefore only the day of the week on which they fall changes.

Date Day Holiday
27 Jan Sat International Outer Space Day
4 Feb Sun World Cancer Day
13 Feb Tue World Radio Day
20 Feb Tue World Day of Social Justice
21 Feb Wed International Mother Language Day
3 Mar Sat World Wildlife Day
8 Mar Thu International Women's Day
20 Mar Tue International Day of Happiness
21 Mar Wed World Poetry Day
21 Mar Wed World Down Syndrome Day
21 Mar Wed International Day of Nowruz
21 Mar Wed International Day of Forests
22 Mar Thu World Water Day
23 Mar Fri World Meteorological Day
24 Mar Sat World Tuberculosis Day
2 Apr Mon World Autism Awareness Day
7 Apr Sat World Health Day
22 Apr Sun International Mother Earth Day
23 Apr Mon World Book and Copyright Day
25 Apr Wed World Malaria Day
26 Apr Thu World Intellectual Property Day
28 Apr Sat World Day for Safety and Health at Work
29 Apr Sun International Dance Day
30 Apr Mon International Jazz Day
3 May Thu World Press Freedom Day
15 May Tue International Day of Families
17 May Thu World Telecommunication and Information Society Day
22 May Tue International Day for Biological Diversity
29 May Tue International Day of UN Peacekeepers
31 May Thu World No-Tobacco Day
1 Jun Fri Global Day of Parents
5 Jun Tue World Environment Day
8 Jun Fri World Oceans Day
14 Jun Thu World Blood Donor Day
17 Jun Sun World Day to Combat Desertification and Drought
20 Jun Wed World Refugee Day
21 Jun Thu International Day of Yoga
23 Jun Sat International Widow's Day
26 Jun Tue International Day in Support of Victims of Torture
30 Jun Sat International Asteroid Day
7 Jul Sat International Day of Cooperatives
11 Jul Wed World Population Day
12 Jul Thu Malala Day
15 Jul Sun World Youth Skills Day
18 Jul Wed Nelson Mandela International Day
28 Jul Sat World Hepatitis Day
30 Jul Mon International Day of Friendship
9 Aug Thu International Day of the World's Indigenous People
12 Aug Sun International Youth Day
19 Aug Sun World Humanitarian Day
29 Aug Wed International Day against Nuclear Tests
8 Sep Sat International Literacy Day
10 Sep Mon World Suicide Prevention Day
15 Sep Sat International Day of Democracy
21 Sep Fri International Day of Peace
27 Sep Thu World Tourism Day
28 Sep Fri World Rabies Day
29 Sep Sat World Heart Day
1 Oct Mon World Habitat Day
1 Oct Mon International Day of Older Persons
2 Oct Tue International Day of Non-Violence
5 Oct Fri World Teachers' Day
9 Oct Tue World Post Day
10 Oct Wed World Mental Health Day
11 Oct Thu World Sight Day
11 Oct Thu International Day of the Girl Child
13 Oct Sat International Day for Disaster Reduction
16 Oct Tue World Food Day
17 Oct Wed International Day for the Eradication of Poverty
24 Oct Wed World Development Information Day
24 Oct Wed United Nations Day
27 Oct Sat World Day for Audiovisual Heritage
10 Nov Sat World Science Day for Peace and Development
12 Nov Mon World Pneumonia Day
13 Nov Tue World Kindness Day
14 Nov Wed World Diabetes Day
15 Nov Thu World Philosophy Day
16 Nov Fri International Day for Tolerance
18 Nov Sun World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims
20 Nov Tue Universal Children's Day
20 Nov Tue Africa Industrialization Day
21 Nov Wed World Television Day
1 Dec Sat World AIDS Day
2 Dec Sun International Day for the Abolition of Slavery
3 Dec Mon International Day of Persons with Disabilities
5 Dec Wed World Soil Day
7 Dec Fri International Civil Aviation Day
9 Dec Sun International Anti-Corruption Day
10 Dec Mon Human Rights Day
11 Dec Tue International Mountain Day
18 Dec Tue International Migrants Day
20 Dec Thu International Human Solidarity Day